The local Governing Body at Abbey School

As an academy, the Local Governing Body of Abbey School has delegated powers from the Nexus Multi Academy Trust Board of Directors, which are outlined in the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation.

The Trust Chief Executive Officer and Chief Finance Officer act as advisors to the Local Governing Body, and attend most meetings

The Governing Body was constituted on 1st June 2016 and the following structure of Governance is now in place:

Head Teacher

No more than 2 Parent Governors

No more than 2 Staff Governors

At least 3 Associate Governors

MINIMUM TOTAL = 7 GOVERNORS (inc 3 members of staff)

Abbey Local Governing Body

Head Teacher – Luci Windle
Chair of Governors – Mary Smith
Parent Governor – Cara Jones

Parent Governor – Deborah Berry

Staff Governor – Liz Shimwell ( Teacher)
Staff Governor – Ian Burns ( Non-Teacher)
Associate Member – Alan Jones

Associate Member – Daniel Buckley

Associate Member – Jim McIntosh
Clerk – Diane Hyner

Governor Profiles can be viewed here

Governing body minutes can be viewed below


01 Abbey LGB 14th June 2016

02 Abbey LGB 12th July 2016

03 Abbey LGB 29th September 2016

04 Abbey LGB 21st November 2016

05 Abbey LGB 29th November 2016


06 Abbey LGB 10th January 2017

07 Abbey LGB 17th February 2017

08 Abbey LGB 21st March 2017

09 Abbey LGB 2nd May 2017

The Local Governing Body meets at least once a half term, with additional meetings being arranged as required.


How can I contact the school governors? The governors can be contacted via the Clerk to Governors c/o  Abbey School, Little Common Lane, Kimberworth, Rotherham, S61 2RA, or email

How are governors chosen? There are different categories of Governors: Parent Governors, Staff Governors, and Associate Governors.